Connect with us

Calgary Flames

Flames Best #15 Of All Time: Kevin LaVallee



Some players, ala Sandy McCarthy and Tim Jackman, have worn the #15 for longer in Flames history. Some only wore it for a season and are better known for their play AFTER leaving Calgary, aka Brett Hull. With that out of the way, none were better than Kevin LaVallee with that number on their backs. So jump in the way back machine, as most of you probably weren’t alive during LaVallee’s years in Calgary.

From 1980-83 LaVallee roamed the ice in the early days of Calgary Flames history. He would only spend three of his short seven year NHL career with the Flames, but they were the most successful of his NHL life and of any #15 in Flames lore. LaVallee would suit up for 212 games during that time frame and collect 131 points. His 1981-82 campaign would be the best of his career as he would play in 75 games and score a career high 32 goals and hand out a career high 29 assists. The 61 point season was by far the best of his career and he would never approach those numbers in or outside of Calgary. He would book end that solid year with 35 points seasons in 1980-81 and 1982-83.

LaVallee would see the NHL post season four times in his career, three of those with Calgary. He would play in 19 career Stanley Cup Playoff games with the Flames, collecting 9 points, but never seeing the Cup Finals.

Kevin LaVallee would leave the Flames after the 1982-83 NHL season and play parts of four more seasons with the LA Kings, St, Louis Blues and Pittsburgh Penguins. His final outing would be in 1986-87 with the Penguins where he would play in 33 games, but pile up 28 points in a solid, if not short season. Post NHL he would play another nine seasons with various clubs in Europe before retiring from hockey in 1995-96.

Other Players Having Worn #15 In Flames History

Jacques Richard (1973-75), Rick Bowness (1976-77), Rod Seiling (1979), Dave Gorman (1980), Steve Tambellini (1984-85), Robin Bartel (1986), Brett Hull (1987-88), Shane Churla (1998-89), Rich Chernomaz (1989), Neil Sheehy (1992), Brent Ashton (1993), Sandy McCarthy (1994-98), Martin St. Louis (1999-2000), Rico Fata (2000-01), Blair Betts (2002-04), Chris Simon (2004), Byron Ritchie (2006-07), Nigel Dawes (2010), Tim Jackman (2011-14), Kevin Westgarth (2014), Ladislav Smid (2015-16), Tanner Glass (2018)

Do you agree? Vote in our poll and or comment below!

by Mark Parkinson