Connect with us

Calgary Flames

NHL Awards Preview: Gio Nominated and Showing Off His Fashion Sense

Wednesday night the NHL will hand out it's season awards in Las Vegas. Here's a preview of what to expect and what Mark Giordano will be up to throughout the night.



The Flames only have 1 (!) player (Mark Giordano) nominated for an award at the 2016 NHL Awards this Wednesday. Gio is nominated for the NHL Foundation Award. This award was first given out in 1998 and per is given to the player “who applies the core values of hockey — commitment, perseverance and teamwork — to enrich the lives of people in his community.” Kelly Chase of the St. Louis Blues was the first to win this award in 1997-98. Mark Giordano is up against Matt Martin of the New York Islanders and P.K. Subban of the Montreal Canadiens. Gio was nominated last year as well, but lost out to Brent Burns of the San Jose Sharks. Jarome Iginla is the only other member of the Flames to be nominated for this award and he won it back in 2003-04. The winner receives a $25,000 grant to use towards causes that the award winner supports. Mark Giordano will also be modeling suits, shirts, belts and shoes from American menswear designer John Varvatos’ latest collections on the red carpet and during the live broadcast. Follow @NHL, @JohnVarvatos and #NHLStyle on Snapchat, Twitter and Instagram for previews. Good luck Gio!!!

Even with only one member of the Flames being nominated, we here at M&G thought you should know who else is nominated for what and when and where the Awards are taking place. Here's your preview:

What: NHL Awards 2016 (hosted by Will Arnett)

Where: Las Vegas, NV

When: Wednesday, June 22, 7 PM ET, NBCSN, SN


Hart Trophy (most valuable player to his team)

Sidney Crosby, Pittsburgh Penguins; Jamie Benn, Dallas Stars; Patrick Kane, Chicago Blackhawks

Vezina Trophy (best goalie)

Ben Bishop, Tampa Bay Lightning; Braden Holtby, Washington Capitals; Jonathan Quick, Los Angeles Kings

Norris Trophy (best defenseman)

Erik Karlsson, Ottawa Senators; Brent Burns, San Jose Sharks; Drew Doughty, Los Angeles Kings

Calder Trophy (top rookie)

Artemi Panarin, Chicago Blackhawks; Connor McDavid, Edmonton Oilers; Shayne Gostisbehere, Philadelphia Flyers

Lady Byng (gentlemanly player)

Loui Eriksson, Boston Bruins; Aleksander Barkov, Florida Panthers; Anze Kopitar, Los Angeles Kings

Selke Trophy (best defensive forward)

Ryan Kesler, Anaheim Ducks; Anze Kopitar, Los Angeles Kings; Patrice Bergeron, Boston Bruins

Jack Adams Award (best coach)

Barry Trotz, Washington Capitals; Lindy Ruff, Dallas Stars; Gerard Gallant, Florida Panthers

Masterton Trophy (perseverance)

Jaromir Jagr, Florida Panthers; Mats Zuccarello, New York Rangers; Pascal Dupuis, Pittsburgh Penguins

Ted Lindsay Award (most outstanding player, voted by players)

Patrick Kane, Chicago Blackhawks; Jamie Benn, Dallas Stars; Braden Holtby, Washington Capitals

Mark Messier Leadership Award

Alex Ovechkin, Washington Capitals; Shea Weber, Nashville Predators; John Tavares, New York Islanders

NHL Foundation Award (community)

Matt Martin, New York Islanders; P.K. Subban, Montreal Canadiens; Mark Giordano, Calgary Flames

King Clancy Award (leadership)

Each team has a nominee

Here's the list of presenters at the 2016 NHL Awards:

Presenters: Hockey Hall of Famers Dominik Hasek, Mark Howe, Mark Messier and Luc Robitaille; former NHL players Kevin Lowe and Marty Howe; actors Anders Holm, Jason Priestley and Jacob Tremblay; magicians Penn & Teller; entertainment broadcaster Olivia Culpo; actress/model Erin Heatherton; NBC Sports broadcasters Kathryn Tappen and Anson Carter; Sportsnet broadcasters Tara Slone and Elliotte Friedman; hockey Twitter sensation Tony X; and Gerry Nelson and son Wyatt, whose first meeting with the Stanley Cup inspired the hockey community, among others.

by Mark Parkinson