Connect with us

Calgary Flames

Young Stars Tourney Game #2: Flames vs. Canucks

After defeating the Oilers rookies 5-2 in last night's game, the Flames' prospects prepare to take on the Vancouver Canucks tonight at 8:30 p.m.



Max Reinhart opened the scoring in the most recent edition of the Battle of Alberta at the Young Stars Tournament last night in Penticton, and the Flames never looked back.

Markus Granlund added two more to put the Calgarians up by three heading into the first intermission, and after the Oilers scored twice in the second period, 2013 first round picks Sean Monahan and Emile Poirier both found the back of the net in the final frame to seal the victory for the Flames prospects.

Tonight, they take on the Vancouver Canucks, who beat the Sharks prospects 3-2 in last night’s game on goals by first round pick Bo Horvat, Chris Crane, and Nicklas Jensen.

The big storyline heading into the first Canucks v. Flames tilt of the season is, of course, Calgary native Hunter Shinkaruk’s debut for Vancouver. The Flames passed up on the Medicine Hat Tigers twice in June’s NHL entry draft, and now the 18-year-old is eager to make Feaster and Co. think twice about that decision.

The second game of this year’s rookie tournament also marks Jordan Subban’s NHL debut; the defenceman is the latest member of the family to suit up for a big league team. The youngest Subban is not quite as large and imposing a presence on the blueline as his older brother P.K., but as more of an offensively talented defenceman, the skills he brings to the table are also very different from those his brother possesses.

On the Flames’ side of things, there are a few lineup changes of note ahead of tonight’s game. Joni Ortio will start in net while forwards Coda Gordon and Andy Taranto will sit this one out, as will defenceman Brett Kulak. After failing to report to rookie camp, Ryan Howse remains suspended by the team.

Here are the projected lines and pairings:

Max Reinhart – Josh Jooris – Linden Penner

Michael Ferland – Sean Monahan – Dylan Smoskowitz

Ben Hanowksi – Markus Granlund – Emile Poirier

Turner ElsonCorban KnightSven Baertschi

Keegan KanzigRyan Culkin

Zach Davies – Tyler Wotherspoon

Eric RoyJohn Ramage

Patrick Sieloff

Joni Ortio


Hunter Shinkaruk – Bo Horvat – Zach Hall

Cain Franson – Cole CasselsNicklas Jensen

Adam De Champlain – Phillipe Maillet – Alexandre Mallet

Mitch Elliot – Alex FriesenLudwig Blomstrand

Evan McEneny – Frankie Corrado

Sacha Guimond – Jordan Subban

Miles LiberatiHenrik Tommernes

Joacim Eriksson

by Hayley Mutch