Connect with us

Calgary Flames

No Captain As The Flames Begin The Season

Four Associate Captains will guide the Flames this season.



The Flames announced today that they will enter the 2021-22 season with no Captain. Calgary, instead, will roll out four Associate Captains. Sean Monahan, Matthew Tkachuk, Mikael Backlund and Chris Tanev will take the "A" duties for the Flames.

Calgary lost their Captain in Mark Giordano this summer as he was selected by the Seattle Kraken in the NHL Expansion Draft. Giordano has held the Flames Captain mantle since the 2013-14 season after Jarome Iginla was traded to the Penguins. Between Iginla and Giordano the Flames captaincy was accounted for over 16 straight years. Both players were the longest tenured Captain's in Flames history.

It's doubtful the Flames will name anyone Captain this season and will continue on with the four Associates. Three of the Flames listed have held that mantle, with Sean Monahan holding it the longest. Chris Tanev is the newest Flame to be given an "A," while Backlund and Tkachuk are veterans of the Associate Captain duty.

by Mark Parkinson