Connect with us

Calgary Flames

Flames Best #7 Of All Time: Joe Mullen

Joe Mullen’s time in Calgary was short, but it was where he put up the best numbers of his long career.



#7 is one of those numbers in Flames history that was been worn a lot. Twenty three times to be exact, but there’s one name that comes to mind and it’s really not even close (sorry T.J. Brodie). Joe Mullen played five OUTSTANDING seasons with the Calgary Flames from 1986-1990 and is a slam dunk to be the greatest player to ever wear the #7 in franchise history.

Mullen was already on the fast track to NHL stardom when he came to the Flames from St. Louis during the 1985-1986 season. In 301 games with the Blues he had 335 points and had some success in the playoffs, but it was his arrival in Calgary that catapulted him to NHL greatness. In his five seasons with the Flames, Mullen would put up some of the best numbers of his career, including his monster 51 goal, 59 assist season in 1988-89, which would coincide with his first lifting of the Stanley Cup. During the Flames Cup run Mullen was an absolute beast, scoring 16 times in 21 games and collecting eight assists.

In his time with Calgary, besides winning a Stanley Cup, Mullen would appear in two All Star Games (1989 & 1990) and is 5th all time in Flames history with 33 game winning goals. When all was said and done, Joe Mullen would play in 345 games with the Flames and his 190 goals and 198 assists are the best numbers he’s had with any team he played for before and after.

Mullen would leave Calgary for Pittsburgh after the 1989-90 season and play six seasons with the Penguins, winning two more Stanley Cups before retiring after the 1997-98 season. Mullen’s distinguished and successful career would land him in the United States Hockey Hall Of Fame in 1998 and the Hockey Hall Of Fame in 2000. He was also the first American born player to reach 500 goal and 1000 points.

Other Players Having Worn #7 In Flames History

Randy Manery (1973-77), Bobby Lalonde (1978-80), Garry Unger (1980), Randy Holt (1981-82), Guy Chouinard (1983), Mike Eaves (1984-85), Tim Sweeney (1991-92), Michel Petit (1992-94), Steve Konroyd (1995), Jamie Allison (1995), Jamie Huscroft (1996-97), Chris Dingman (1998-99), Chris Clark (2000), Steve Begin (2000), Marc Bureau (2000), Chuck Kobasew (2003-04), Bryan Marchment (2006), Andrei Zyuzi (2007), Stephane Yelle (2008), Todd Bertuzzi (2009), Adam Pardy (2010-11), T.J. Brodie (2012-20)

Do you agree? Vote in our poll or comment below!!!

by Mark Parkinson