Connect with us

Calgary Flames

Mark Giordano Wins Mark Messier Leadership Award

The Captain’s on and off ice persona has led him to some post season hardware.



It’s one of the NHL’s worst kept secrets: Mark Giordano is a good guy. It really doesn’t get more simple than that statement. The Flames Captain is a leader on the ice, as he’s always known as one of the “good guys” and rarely, if ever finds himself in some shenanigans. Off the ice, he’s even better as he is known for devoting his time to local charities in the Calgary community. Well all of those efforts paid off today as Mark Giordano was named the Mark Messier Leadership Award winner for the 2019-20 season.

The award is handed out annually to the player who “leads by positive example through on-ice performance, motivation of team members and a dedication to community activities and charitable causes.” Mark Messier himself selects the recipient and the award has been handed out over the last 14 seasons. Giordano is the second Flames player ever to win the award, following in Jarome Iginla’s footsteps who won the award in 2008-2009.

Calgary’s veteran defenceman can add this award to his growing post season trophy case. In addition to the Messier Leadership Award, Giordano also has a Norris Trophy (2019), NHL Foundation Player Award (2016) and the ESPY Muhammad Ali Humanitarian Award (2017).

Past Mark Messier Leadership Award Winners

2006-07: Chris Chelios

2007-08: Mats Sundin

2008-09: Jarome Iginla

2009-10: Sidney Crosby

2010-11: Zdeno Chara

2011-12: Shane Doan

2012-13: Daniel Alfredsson

2013-14: Dustin Brown

2014-15: Jonathan Toews

2015-16: Shea Weber

2016-17: Nick Foligno

2017-18: Derek Engelland

2018-19: Wayne Simmonds

by Mark Parkinson